Seychelles Opens its Borders to All Countries on March 25

Seychelles Opens its Borders to All Countries on March 25

Thu, 04 March 2021

The Republic of Seychelles opens its borders to tourists from all countries, irrespective of their vaccination status, as from March 25, 2021, the Minister for Foreign Affairs and Tourism Sylvestre Radegonde announced.

Visitors will only be required to present a negative PCR test taken 72 hours prior to departure and they will not be subject to quarantine requirement nor additional restrictions on arrival.

"This is wonderful and long-awaited news for the thousands of Bulgarian tourists who are interested in traveling to the beautiful Seychelles," said Honorary Consul General of Seychelles in Bulgaria Maxim Behar. "During all these endless months of lockdown, I had hundreds of calls from impatient tourists, most of them with already purchased tickets and reservations. Now I can tell them - get ready and plan your trip," added Behar.

Turkish Airlines also announced that the company is resuming flights from Istanbul to Seychelles International Airport, located on the main island of Mahe, where the capital, Victoria, is located.

The new measures, announced by Minister Radegonde, also give visitors access to all communal area within the hotel premises inclusive of bars, swimming pools, spas and Kid’s club. 

However, visitors will still be required to adhere to other public health measures put in place in view of the pandemic these will include wearing of face masks, social distancing, regular sanitisation or washing of hands.

Minister Radegonde stated that the decision to review and relax the entry procedures in the country has been made possible in view of the success registered in the aggressive vaccination campaign that the country embarked on earlier in the year. It is estimated that by that date, the entire population of the Republic of Seychelles, which is about 85,000 people in all 115 islands of the country in the Indian Ocean, will be vaccinated.

The only country that is excluded from this list is South Africa and its citizens still not be permitted to enter Seychelles for the time being until further review.

» All news