Seychelles Islands welcomed its first tourists after COVID-19

Seychelles Islands welcomed its first tourists after COVID-19

Tue, 04 August 2020

Four months after the country closed its borders to tourists, the beautiful islands are ready to welcometheir guests again from August 1! The first flight to land in the Seychelles arrived from Dubai with 170 passengers on board, including both visitors and locals returning to their homeland.

The first plane to arrive in the country after the pandemic caused by COVID-19 was personally welcomed by the Minister of Tourism, the principal secretary for tourism and the Chief Executive Officer of the Seychelles Civil Aviation Authorities.

A week ago, The President of the Republic of Seychelles, together with government services and representatives of the private sector discussed all the necessary details before opening the borders, as well as action plans in case of a tourist infected with coronavirus. The meeting also focused on the setting up of a designated establishment within the tourism industry to cater for the eventuality that a visitor needs to be isolated during his or her stay in Seychelles; an option which not only ensures the safety of the general public but allows the tourist(s) to continue enjoying their holiday in Seychelles within a secure and pleasant environment.

Speaking to the press, the principal secretary for tourism, Anne Lafortune noted that if a visitor tests positive for the virus and is not showing any symptoms while in the country he or she will be placed in a hotel that will have been converted to accommodate them so that they can continue their vacation without having any contact with the general population or other tourists.

We remind that the Seychelles Health Organization has published an official list of countries with a high risk of transmitting the infection, whose citizens are currently not allowed to visit the Seychelles. There is still no permission for Bulgarian citizens to travel to the destination. The full list of countries whose inhabitants can visit the country are: Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Cuba, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Monaco, New Zealand, Norway, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, UAE. The list will be updated periodically.

For current information please visit

» All news